How to get great service when you dine out

We all know the feeling; you are excited to visit a new restaurant, or to re-visit a favorite place. But when you get there, the service is slow or your server is forgetful. Then the food comes out, that dish you have been fantasizing about. It is set down in front of you, and you take that first long awaited bite…..only it isn’t really as good as you remembered. The steak is tough, your pasta is overcooked and mushy, that normally crisp asparagus hangs limply from your fork. You can’t hide your disappointment, you don’t want to ruin the evening for your dinner companions, but you just can’t summon up any enthusiasm.

Well, last night at my Birthday dinner at Copeland’s in Covington, I accidentally stumbled on a great way to improve the food and service tenfold! It is so simple. Take pictures of your food. I was intending to write a photo blog about my dinner, that was the reason I took the pictures. But as soon as the server saw me do that, everything changed. For the better. Suddenly, she couldn’t do enough for us. The food came out when it should (no bringing of the main course 2 minutes after the appetizer arrives, I hate that). The food was prepared better than I have ever had at that restaurant, down to the presentation. The manager came by to check if everything was to our liking at least 3 times, it was almost funny. My guess is they believed me to be some kind of food critic….

We started off with the hot crab claws, and an order of fried pickles (my guilty pleasure….ok, one of them). I had a Mojito. For the main course, I had a garlic filet. It might be the best steak I have ever had, truely. Broiled beautifully to medium well, and melt in your mouth tender. Hubby had crab stuffed catfish, which he said was very good. (I will take his word for it, I don’t eat catfish).

Then it was time for dessert. The part I had been waiting for. Cheesecake. Copeland’s is known for their cheesecake, it is what they do! The server brings the dessert menu, and then she tells me that they are out of cheesecake. Wait, what??? No cheesecake? I was too bummed to speak. I almost felt bad for the server, she looked so nervous and upset at having to tell me there wasn’t any cheesecake (probably because she still believed me to be some kind of food critic). She stood there switching her weight from foot to foot, her eyes darting back and forth. I was nice, I just told her I would pass. I had my heart set on cheesecake.

We settled on bignets and cafe au lait at the Cafe DuMonde. Normally, I wouldn’t consider that settling….but my heart was set on cheesecake….I probably won’t be getting over that anytime soon….

I can honestly say, however, that if taking pictures of my food improves things that much, I will be taking pictures of my food everywhere I go from now on 😉

About aNOLAwriter

I am a wife, and a Mom to 2 little girls and 2 golden retrievers. I blog about anything that happens to wander into my mind. I especially like to visit local shops and restaurants and use my blog as a means of supporting those businesses. I just published my first novel, Curves in the road, available for Kindle and Nook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So, what do you think?