Help! I’m knitting and I can’t stop!

About three years ago, while wandering around a craft store, I ran across a book that promised to help you teach yourself to knit. It was called….wait for it…..”I tought myself to knit!”. So I picked it up and put it in the cart along with a couple of skeins of yarn, and to my immense surprise, it worked. I did teach myself to knit. The only problem is, now I can’t seem to stop.

I have boxes full of baby blankets, hats, baby bonnets, booties, socks, scarves, cozies, flowers, and a host of other stuff. I have no idea what I will do with it all, probably nothing. If I give my family members one more hand knitted scarf or doilie, I am pretty sure they will wrap it around my head and suffocate me with it, so that’s out. People are always having babies, so the baby stuff does come in handy now and again. My greatest accomplishment was selling a few baby bootie/bonnet combos to a friend. That was actually very cool!

The fact remains, however, that I have all of this knitted stuff boxed up in my house, but I still keep knitting! I can’t seem to stop myself! I suppose there are much worse addictions that I could be dealing with. I am pretty sure this is how those people on Hoarders get started. It starts with a seemingly innocent hobby, and pretty soon you are keeping everything because you might use it one day. Then one day, you wake up and you can’t get out of bed because there is a mountain of ten year old magazines on one side and a pile of unopened Happy meal toys on the other. Your husband has to move out to the shed because his side of the bed is now occupied by your collection of empty cat food bags, and your Kids tell their friends that they are orphans.

Ok, gotta go knit now.

About aNOLAwriter

I am a wife, and a Mom to 2 little girls and 2 golden retrievers. I blog about anything that happens to wander into my mind. I especially like to visit local shops and restaurants and use my blog as a means of supporting those businesses. I just published my first novel, Curves in the road, available for Kindle and Nook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So, what do you think?