Adventures in online dating, a montage of bad dates

I have decided that my final post in the Adventures in online dating series won’t focus on any one date, but rather, it will be a sort of montage. A tribute to all of the strange, creepy, ill suited, and downright scary guys that I had to weed my way through until I met my genuine match.

There was the guy that told me that his only problem with me was that I was a little chunky for his taste, but he wouldn’t kick me out of bed for eating crackers. (FYI, I am 5’9″ tall and at the time I was a size 8 ).

The guy that used a twenty year old picture as his profile picture, and was actually older than my Dad. He was actually pretty fun, but as I don’t have a Daddy complex, that was doomed to fail.

And let’s not forget the guy that showed up at the restaurant with an entorage, and spent the entire evening joking with them and bringing up inside jokes. He told me later that he hadn’t wanted me to be uncomfortable and thought if there was a group it would be easier to get to know one another. Really??

I got stood up twice because the guys both thought I had used a fake photo and were afraid I would end up being a 400 pounder, or be horribly disfigured.

One that was actually trying to be quite gallant, convinced me to meet him at a Waffle house (only thing open at 2am) despite my protests that the next day was laundry day and I didn’t have anything decent to wear. He showed up in bright orange coveralls to make me feel better. I actually went out with him 3 times, but I met the person that is now my husband just after our 3ed date, and the rest is history!

Please don’t let my horror stories scare you away if you are thinking about online dating. I actually met seveal completely normal people that just weren’t for me. Just keep your sense of humor front and center, and you will have a blast!

About aNOLAwriter

I am a wife, and a Mom to 2 little girls and 2 golden retrievers. I blog about anything that happens to wander into my mind. I especially like to visit local shops and restaurants and use my blog as a means of supporting those businesses. I just published my first novel, Curves in the road, available for Kindle and Nook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So, what do you think?